Driver vs fairway wood graphite shafts?

Any and all discussions on fitting, shafts, grips, swing weight and matters for the do-it-yourselfers are open for discussion

Moderators: w2, xxio, Jack aMMo, parteeboy, ssp, jick, golpher, Dandy, temiatwork, weed_whacker, judaschylde, leftys59, qt_arvin, tjgato

Driver vs fairway wood graphite shafts?

Postby Whingeing Pom » Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:27 pm

I'm a newbie in this area. Is there a reason why manufacturers tend to put different shafts in their drivers vs their fairway woods?
I love the feel of the True Temper EI-70 regular flex in my Titleist 975D. I recently bought a 15* 980F with a shortened (by 1" from stock, I reckon) Aldila NV 65-S that's too stiff. Would anyone advise against hunting down another EI-70 for the 3 wood?
I like the idea of matching shafts in woods - for performance reasons, not cosmetics :D If not an EI-70, can anyone recommend a good fairway wood match to the EI-70?
Thanks much!
P.S. Now looking for a 19* 980F if anyone has one - not "Strong", just "Pro Trajectory".
Whingeing Pom

Postby parteeboy » Sun Aug 24, 2008 3:01 am

You can put the EI-70 on your fairway wood. Just make sure you get the right tip size. As a driver shaft, that's a little on the heavy side but if you like it ...

BTW, what's a prehistoric spalding putter? Is that the one Fred Flintstone carried or was it Barney's? :D
Cleveland DST Tour 10.5°
TM R9 3-wood 15°
Kasco Power Tornado 44 19°
MP-68 4-PW
TM xFT 52.09° & 58.12°
Bettinardi C-02h or Odyssey Tri-Ball SRT 33"
parteeboy

Postby Whingeing Pom » Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:48 am

parteeboy wrote:You can put the EI-70 on your fairway wood. Just make sure you get the right tip size. As a driver shaft, that's a little on the heavy side but if you like it ...

Ah ha! So driver shafts are heavier, inch for inch? I'd just assumed they were heavier because they're longer.